The Punk Rock Sketch and Sip

A different kind of art event.

Let me introduce myself, I’m Rob. I’m a local artist.

Something that bothered me: the best way to develop great paintings of the human figure is with an actual live model in the room. I could very well ask any number of friends and they may pose for me at no cost to me, but I am an artist and expect to be paid for my work. Models should be paid for their work, too.

So this is where the punk rock comes in, and let’s just get great people in the room with a desire to draw.

So, I book it, we all just split the cost while we listen to some great indie, punk and electronica music; and we have a pint on the house and we draw from some great art models with tattoos and dyed hair, –and they are just cool people anyway.

So, the Punk Rock Sketch and Sip was born. Sounds great already.

We’re at the Low Beat, 335 Central Avenue, Albany NY 12206, –in one of the best rock clubs you’ll find in the area –or anywhere, really. Come in, draw, drink, and I’ll use my decade of teaching experience to walk you through drawing figure –if you’re still learning it for the first time.

Professionals, and any other skill level welcome: if you can make a line I will teach you. If you’re a working artist, I’ll just be at my easel, drawing, and I’ll let you do your thing.

Its a low-stress, casual way to practice figure, –or learn it for the first time. We give a discount for students with a valid college ID.

We have some materials, but attendees are encouraged to bring their own. Bring an easel if you have one. The bar might fill up quickly. Bring a sketch book and go at it.

Our next event is Tuesday, January 31st at 7:00pm.

$15 general/$8 with a valid student ID.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

