Eleven Images: New Work, 2016

First post of the new year. So, hey!

The older, recent works can all still be seen here. http://wp.me/p2c9SR-a9

Find my e-mail in the about section and contact for details.

To finish off the last of old business, the last image I started in 2015 was a little canvas I shortened the name to “Starvation.” After a second sitting, it came off a little too flat and blended. So, I darkened the image up slightly with some Burnt Sienna, and I think this one’s ready to take off the easel and let dry.

Here is the final image:

IMG_1776

“Starvation” 11″ x 14″ oil on canvas, Was $60, now $45

 

I had a wood panel left from a bunch of wood I scavenged last summer. I really enjoyed this one:

img_0340

“The Window,” graphite and acrylic paint on gessoed wood panel, first sitting.

img_0352

“The Window,” graphite and acrylic paint on gessoed wood board, 9″ x 19″ (approximate) (SOLD)

 

Been working lately with graphite in my painted oil and acrylic works, I am liking the effect thus for of working more mixed media:

img_0334

“Dissolve/Dissolute” 16″ x 20 inches, graphite and oil on canvas. second sitting.

 

img_0338

“Dissolve/Dissolute” graphite and oil on canvas, 16″ x 20″ Was $135, now $115.

Getting back on top of the pieces I have been working on, I may have some pictures of this in process, and I will try to get them up eventually. Here is the finished product:

img_0318

“Uneasy Chair” oil on canvas, 12″ x 12″ Was $115, now, $95

 

 

Began color-blocking a new piece today, this one already ended up with a name. The end result will likely be much less representational, also, the panels will be suspended in a manner similar to “There is No Gentle Way Down from Here.”

Began color-blocking a new piece, so far, untitled:

img_3814

“No One Got Left Here” color blocking, acrylic on 2 8″ x 10″ canvas panels.

 

img_0335

“No One Got Left” acrylic pain on two 8″ x 10 canvases $125. (SOLD)

 

New work, did this one quickly. In acrylic, which is unusual for me.

img_3811

“Irreconcilable Indifferences” acrylic paint on canvas, 16″ x 20″ $75

Started two new canvases, but these are begin with unusual (for me) ideas.

This one is called “sleep” or “rest.”

IMG_3085

“At Rest” color blocking, oil on canvas, 12″ x 12″

IMG_3220

“At Rest” second sitting, oil on canvas, 12″ x 12″

img_3402

“At Rest” third sitting, oil on canvas, 12″ x 12″ It’s close, but this is going to need another sitting.

img_3608

Body at Rest, 12″ x 12″ oil on canvas, Was $205, now $185.

And this thing, I just have no idea at all:

IMG_3084

“The Quiet Area,” oil on canvas, 16″ x 20″ first sitting

IMG_3219

“The Quiet Area,” oil on canvas, 16″ x 20″ second sitting.

img_3404

“The Quiet Area” third sitting, oil on canvas, 16″ x 20″

img_3832

“The Quiet Area” final, oil on canvas, 16″ x 20″ was $250, now $200

 

Both these pieces are going to need further work. I am challenging myself and varying my technique more.These are different pieces for me, so I am using a mix of under-painting/glazing, and some palette knife. Keeping on working I suppose.
[update, but have final versions, both took a good deal more hours than I anticipated]

I’ll have to start tallying up to see how close I came to hitting my goal over the past couple months, (I’ll do so when I photograph all my new works for my catalog and put wires in the back). It’s now a new year, and I don’t see any reason to slow down on what I am doing. With that in mind I did some color blocking on two new, yet untitled canvases.

Began color-blocking a new piece this morning:

IMG_3074

Color blocking, first sitting, oil on canvas, 8″ x 1o”

IMG_3075

“Something like Purity,” First sitting, oil on canvas, 8″ x 10″

IMG_3083

“Something Like Purity”oil on canvas, 8″ x 10” $45

Touched this last on up a little as well.

IMG_3221

“Something Like Purity” oil on canvas, 8″ x 10″ final $75

Some new pieces, drying:

IMG_3089


An entirely new piece, this came together in a single sitting:

IMG_2981

“An Appearance of the Apparition,” oil on gessoed wood panel, 11″ x 16″ $195

Second sitting, Still not quite closing on what I want with is image:

IMG_2980

Untitled, (second sitting) oil on canvas, 8″ x 10″

Done:

IMG_3081

“An Elemental”final, oil on canvas, 8″ x 10” $60

Began color-blocking a new piece, after I finished the last one (Vine), here is it after a first sitting:

IMG_2898

Untitled, first sitting, oil on canvas, 8″ x 10″

The newest finished work. This is going to be another installation, like “There is No Gentle Way Down From Here” (see below).

IMG_2897

Dead on the Vine, finished panels, oil on canvas, 12″ x 12″

The idea I have for this piece will incorporate two metal sheets, one attached to each canvas, and suspended in a manner like the weights in old grandfather clocks.

I need to buy supplies to realize this. A purchase of one of the works for sale would help me get that done.

Color-blocking this morning:

IMG_2828

“Dead on the Vine” oil on canvas, 2 12″ x 12″ panels, first sitting.

5.23: color-blocking on two new pieces

(the triptych I have talked about)

The Triptych is done!

Here are some images of the finished piece:

IMG_2584

As as I was working on it, I got the idea to suspend the panels by eye-hooks and chain, so the triptych would hang together as a single installation. Here I am cutting the chain and assembling the parts.

IMG_2585

Finished work, “There is No Gentle Way Down From Here,” Oil on canvas, (3 8″ x 10″ panels, total dimensions: 10″W  x 48″H) chain and brass eye-hooks.  $275

IMG_2586

A close shot of the chain and eye-hooks.

IMG_2587

Panel 1

IMG_2588

Panel 2

IMG_2589

Panel 3

IMG_2546

New work, color blocking, oil on canvas, 3 vertically stacked 8″ x 10″ panels.

IMG_2565

Untitled work, second sitting, oil on canvas, 3 vertically stacked 8″ x 10″ canvases.

…and

IMG_2465

New piece, color blocking, 12″ x 12″ oil on canvas, first sitting.

IMG_2566

Untitled work, second sitting, oil on canvas, 12″ x 12″

IMG_2821

“No Lover isn’t a Noose in Time” oil on canvas, 12″ x 12″ was $60, now $45

First sitting with two new pieces:

IMG_2378

Untitled, oil on canvas, 8″ x 10″ first sitting.

Worked for a bit on both these pieces (8, May):

IMG_2459

Untitled canvas, oil on canvas, 8″ x 10″, second sitting

Two images of the finished work:

IMG_2462

Lullaby for a Cast-away, (finished) oil on canvas  8″ x 10″, $70

IMG_2467

Second image, drying on my wall, “Lullaby for a Cast-away” $75.

IMG_2379

Untitled, oil on canvas 16″ x 20″ first sitting.

IMG_2460

Untitled, oil on canvas, 16″ x 20″ second sitting

IMG_2466

Untitled, 3rd sitting, oil on canvas, 16″ x 20″

Done:

IMG_2469

“Either a Swan-dive, or an Invitation?” (drying on the wall) oil on canvas, 16″ x 20″ $205

First sitting with two new pieces:

IMG_2310

Untitled work, first sitting, 10″ x 14″ oil on canvas

IMG_2362

“Tendrils, rivulets”oil on canvas, 10″ x 14” $105

With the both of these pieces I am experimenting with working a little differently. The second image here, I aimed to do this one with very thin washes of paint over each other, slowly building up the color’s intensity.  I also plan to use a very limited pallete, I may eventually involve a shade (to create more contrast) but so far, this images is using only Yellow Ochre, Medium Yellow, and Permenant Green Light.

IMG_2309

“Prozac Listening Party” oil on canvas, 8″ x 10″ first sitting

IMG_2363

“Prozac Listening Party” oil on canvas 8″ x 10″ was $75, now $55

 

 

Life got real busy with other things, but I briefly got back to my easel today. This is the second sitting on this piece, I had blocked out shapes and colors previously. Where the yet untitled piece stands now:

IMG_2149

Untitled, oil on canvas, 16″ x 20″, second sitting

Sat down and worked (third sitting) on the newest canvas. I may revisit it in the morning, but I think it is done:

IMG_2305

“Flesh Cathedrals”oil on canvas, “18 x 24”, third sitting, final was $245. now $215

 

Started another canvas too, not very interesting yet, just blocked color.

2/2016

Started new pieces (one is a commission, so I will share images of that when it is delivered). When the commission was done, I used some paint that was left on my pallette to start a new small piece.

New work, this one likewise came together quickly and in two sittings (I did not photograph the original sitting/color blocking for whatever reason):

IMG_2070

“Schism” oil on canvas, 11″ x 14,” $125

First, there was this image:

IMG_2001

“A Rest for Troubled Waters” first sitting, color blocking. oil on canvas, 16″ x 20″

Third sitting (normally, I am better about photographing my progress, but I worked on this piece of and on a couple days ago. I did not get a photo at the intermediate stage. Here is the final piece, however:

IMG_2037

“A Rest for Troubled Water” oil on canvas, 16″ x 20″, $205

And, I blocked color (with a palette knife) on a new small piece:

IMG_2027

Untitled, first sitting/color blocking, oil on canvas, 8″ x 10″ work in progress.

Second sitting. I would still like to have one more go at this:

IMG_2072

Untitled work, oil on canvas, 8″  10″, second sitting.

Worked on this piece again. I set it aside to develop it more, but I decided I like it as is. Sometimes, I don’t know:

IMG_2084

“A Close Reading of Tea Leaves” (final), oil on canvas, 8″ x 10″ $60

Another image of the same:

IMG_2085

A Close Reading of Tea Leaves, oil on canvas, was $70, now $60

New piece:

IMG_1800

“for this moment, everything is mine” oil on canvas, 18″ x 24″ $135

Came together in one sitting, but I had a very specific idea about it.

These two with be the first pieces this year.

IMG_1777

Untitled canvas, 11″ x 14,” oil on canvas, first sitting.

Second sitting:

IMG_1784

Lick the Wound (Until My Tongue is Gone), oil on canvas, 11″ x 14″ $125

And the other:

IMG_1778

Second untitled canvas, oil on canvas, 8″ x 10″ first sitting.

Second sitting:

IMG_1782

“A Masque is for Truth-telling”, oil on canvas, 8″ x 10″, $65.

Will be updating with more images as the pieces and others come together.

Best wishes to my readers for the new year!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment