Self-portrait #3

I tend to, every so often, do a self portrait. Portrait was something I worked on heavily, early on –even as I was still in high school. One of the first works I did early on, while a student at Skidmore College in Saratoga, N.Y., was a self-portrait. It was the culminating project that semester (Summer, in 1997). It’s still, technically, among the best things I’ve done. 

A self-portrait, for me, is a good way to look inside yourself at what’s difficult to understand or to manage within. Sometimes, it’s forward-looking, sometimes it looks backwards. Perhaps this one is both.

This will be the third self-portrait I’ve done in oil. I will do small sketches every so often. I don’t suppose that self-portraits mean much of anything to anyone but the artist and people very close to them. The source image is sort of self-explanatory to people who were around for events for me in the fall of 2009.  

Self-portrait #3, Oil on canvas, (2014).

Self-portrait #3, Oil on canvas, (2014).

 

I may decide the flaws I see are something I can live with, or I may simply consider this done. The following photo is of the source image.

 

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Source image, on my easel.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

