New Small Works (late 2014-15)

                      [ALL SMALL WORKS CURRENTLY REDUCED, Inquire/make offer]

I decided to do another page of the Small Works Progress Administration. The other has a lot of work on it already and has fallen pretty far down the page as new posts have been added on the blog. These are all small studies I have done, on paper or cardboard, designed to be sold for $15 – $25. As an artist, I want people to think of original art as something that is available personally to them –not as something unaffordable that hangs in galleries or museums.

[…]

Adding a few of the images I created specifically for the Destroy Eleven show in Buffalo, NY. The first two images are of the center administrative building of the Richardson-Olmsted Complex, a former psychiatric hospital by a team of the 19th-century’s premier architects of large public buildings.

IMG_1763

Small works, “Richardson Complex 1″ approx 5″ x 9” acrylic on gessoed card-board $25

 

IMG_1766

Small Works, “Richardson Complex 2″ approx 5″ x 9”, acrylic on gessoed card-board.

The last new image is of one of my old film SLRs, my Canon Pellix 35mm camera.

 

IMG_1765

Canon Pellix 35mm Camera, approx 5″ x 9″, acrylic on gessoed card-board (sold)

Look for more, coming soon, I have a lot of ideas for these.

[…]

Added two more to the pile before running out of steam tonight. A study of a plastic skull, and a study of a gargoyle figurine I have in my house (sans tiara).

I am hoping to do a few more before the upcoming show, but I have stash available already. It’s an “if it happens” thing. But I will be selling these, and any more that get done tomorrow on Friday.

 

[…]

A couple more new:

“Rise,” approx 5″ x 9″, acrylic on gessoed cardboard (SOLD)

“If you’re not on a watch-list…” approx 5″ x 9″, acrylic on gessoed cardboard.

From Washington Park Flower Bed, approx 5

From Washington Park Flower Bed, approx 5″ x 9″ acrylic on gessoed cardboard

[…]

Gargoyle, study. Acrylic on gessoed cardboard, approx 7

Gargoyle, study. Acrylic on gessoed cardboard, approx 7″ x 9″ [SOLD]

“Skull candy,” study acrylic on gessoed cardboard approx 5″ x 9″

second image of

second image of “skull candy”

[…]

Completed a couple of the small works while I’m waiting for my son’s mother to bring him over for a visit today. For whatever reason, I choose to stick to some Albany landmarks. (Two images follow)

Dr. Suess tree, Washington Park, Albany NY. Acrylic on gessoed cardboard, approx 5

Dr. Suess tree, Washington Park, Albany NY. Acrylic on gessoed cardboard, approx 5″ x 9″ $25

Livingston Ave train Trestle, Albany, NY. Acrylic on gessoed cardboard approx 5

Livingston Ave train Trestle, Albany, NY. Acrylic on gessoed cardboard approx 5″ x 9″ [sold]

There will probably be  few more to come, later this evening.

Update, 6/7/15

Warming up to paint today by doing a series of random things, my partner’s roses and basil plant, and an old endangered church in Hudson, NY, which is a favorite photographic subject of mine:

IMG_0770

Rose (1 of 2) approx 5″ by 8″ acrylic on cardboard (sold)

IMG_0771

Rose (2 of 2) aprox 5″ by 8″, acrylic on cardboard (sold)

IMG_0772

Basil (2 of 2) approx 5″ by 8″ acrylic on cardboard (sold)

IMG_0773

Basil (1 of 2) 5″ x 8″ (approx) acrylic paint on gessoed cardboard $25

IMG_0774

Presbyterian Church, Hudson, NY 5″ x 8″ approx, acrylic on gessoed cardboard

[…}

Update, 3/7/15

The first Edgar has already sold, but even before that happened, I had intended to do a series of Edgars. For those who don’t know me personally, Edgar is a foam-rubber Halloween decoration that has been prominently displayed in all my various apartments over many years. In this work, Edgar is re-imagined as the subject of propaganda art. Calling this “Wait for Your Glorious Future (Edgar II).”

“Wait for Your Glorious Future (Edgar II)” Acrylic on gessoed cardboard. $25

[…]

Today (13, October) wasn’t the most productive day at the easel, but at least I got myself working today. I started one larger piece (that I’m not ready to show progress on yet) and I did another small work for the Small Works Progress Administration.

This is just a simple image of a flower that came out of a bag of mixed seeds I got free with an online order.

If anybody is good at identifying flowers, let me know. I’m terribly bad at it these days (though I wasn’t always).

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Unidentified Flower, acrylic on cardboard, SOLD

[return to older post]

111_4681

Edgar 1, acrylic on card-board. 4″ x 7 1/2″ SOLD

I did one of the Edgars today (I will probably do several more, especially if people express interest. Plus, I find painting them fun and whimsical) If you don’t know Edgar’s story, I explain in the sketches blog (II).

Secondly, I did a very small image of a single wine glass:

Wine glass, 3

Wine glass, 3″x5″, acrylic on gessoed card board -SOLD-

Lastly, there’s an image of “The Peak House,” a (now demolished) farmhouse in Saratoga County that was near the home I grew up in. The image is based on a picture I took with a Pentax 35mm SLR I learned photography on as a teenager.

The Peak House, acrylic on card board, 5

The Peak House, acrylic on card board, 4″ x 8″ $20

[older]

The pieces shown here were done yesterday. While visiting with my son, I set up my easel near the park playground (Washington Park, in Albany, NY, where he usually plays). There are little color-studies of some of the stately old trees there, and a few subjects a little more whimsical.

111_4575

Washington Park tree, water color on paper. 7 1/2″ x 9 1/2″ approximate.$15

111_4576

Washington Park tree # 2, watercolor on paper. 7 1/2″ by 9 1/2″ approximate. $15

111_4577

Pencil on paper sketch of an espresso (demitasse) cup. From my sketch book. (make offer)

To see my original post about the NWPA, go here: https://elevenimages.wordpress.com/2013/10/24/the-small-works-progress-administration/

A couple more whimsical images:

111_4578

Child on bicycle, watercolor and pencil on paper, 8 1/2″ by 11″. $15

111_4579

“RAWR!” (children’s playground equipment) Washington Park, Albany NY. Watercolor on paper, 7 1/2″ by 9″ approximate. $15

If you are interested in any of the works shown there, or in any of the images following, please use the e-mail listed by clicking “about Eleven Images.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

